​JOHN BARSBY COMMUNITY SCHOOL
550 Seventh Street
Nanaimo, B.C. Canada V9R 3Z2
Phone: 250-753-8211
Fax: 250-753-2430​​
  • Barsby Office Closed for the Summer

    The administration office at Barsby is closed for the summer and will re-open on August 24th.

  • New Bell Schedule for Barsby
    We have a new bell schedule for 2015-2016. Classes will start at 8:55 everyday and dismissal is 2:40 on Mondays, 3:35 Tuesday to Thursday and 1:40 on Fridays. To see the complete bell schedule please click HERE
jb-bulldog.png 
 
 
Welcome to the site of John Barsby Community School. John Barsby is located in the heart of the Harewood community in the beautiful city of Nanaimo.
 
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​​​
 

 Grad Video 2015

 
 

 Bell Schedule

 
Click HERE to see a larger (printable) version of the bell schedule
 

 Daily Announcements

 

Report Cards

Report cards will be handed out beginning on June 29th until July 10th.  They can be picked up in the office during our summer office hours which will be 8:00 – 2:30 Monday – Thursday and until 2pm on Fridays.
 

 

 

 

 School Calendar

 
< August, 2015 >
 Sun  Mon  Tue  Wed  Thu  Fri  Sat 
 26 
 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
 9 
 10 
 11 
 12 
 13 
 14 
 15 
 16 
 17 
 18 
 19 
 20 
 21 
 22 
 23 
 24 
 25 
 26 
 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 

 Special Announcements

 
Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
  
  
  
  
7/10/2015 12:05 PM
  
6/25/2015 2:52 PM
 

 Important Dates

 

 

 

School and District Calendars

 

Click HERE to go to the 2015-2016 District School Calendar

 

Click HERE to see the SD68 3-year Calendar

 

 

Barsby 2015-2016

 

 
·         Tue Sept 8: Schools open for students
·         Wed Sept 9: First day of regular classes
·         Mon Sept 14: Photo Day
·         Mon Sept 14: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Mon Sept 28: Non-Instructional day (no classes)
·         Mon Oct 5: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Mon Oct 12: Thanksgiving Day (no classes)
·         Fri Oct 23: Non-Instructional Day (no classes)
·         Mon Nov 2: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Wed Nov 11: Remembrance day (no classes)
·         Mon Dec 7: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Fri Dec 18: Last day of classes before Winter Break 
·         Mon Jan 4: Classes resume after Winter Break
·         Mon Jan 11: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Mon Feb 1: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Feb 18-20: NIRD Fest at Barsby
·         Mon-Fri Jan 25-19: Provincial Exams
·         Mon Feb 4: BC Family Day (no classes)
·         Mon Feb 22: District Pro-D (no classes)
·         Tue Feb 23: School-based Pro-D (no classes)  
·         Mon Mar 7: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Fri Mar 11: Last day of classes before Spring Break
·         Mon Mar 29: Classes resume after Spring Break 
·         Mon Apr 4: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Mon May 2: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Fri May 13: Non-Instructional day (no classes) 
·         Mon May 23: Victoria day (no classes)
·         Mon June 6: PAC Meeting 7PM Barsby Library
·         Sat June 11: Grade 12 PROM
·         Tue June 21: Last Day of Classes
·         Wed June 22 - Tue June 28:  Provincial Exams
·         Thur Jun 30: Administrative Day - Schools Close
 
 
PLC Sessions - Early Dismissal for students

Students will be dismissed from school one-hour early on Mondays.
Note for bus students - the school bus schedule runs one hour earlier on PLC early dismissal days
 

 

 

.

 

 

 Friday Block Rotations

 
  • Friday May 22nd: A B C D (1 2 3 4)
  • Friday May 29th: C D A B (3 4 1 2) 
  • Friday June 5th: B A D C (2 1 4 3)
  • Friday June 12th: D C B A (4 3 2 1)​

 

 

 

 Erase Bullying!

 

Bullying isn’t just a child’s issue; it’s a school and community issue, and must be addressed with a school and community solution.

Everyone should be safe from bullying. Don't let them control you and keep you down. Help ERASE bullying starting now. ERASE is a private and anonymous online reporting tool for targets of bullying or those that witness it taking place. Some secrets aren't worth keeping. More information – Click the icon above!

Code of Conduct

Barsby is a PBIS (Positive Behaviour Intervention Support) school and we promote positive behaviour through modelling and clearly defined expectations. Students are expected to follow the school's Code of Conduct. For more information about PBIS or the Code of Conduct go to About Us section of the Barsby webpage of click HERE.​

​​​​
 

 Staff Related Links

 
DISTRICT ANNOUNCEMENTS
Feb 10, 2015
Your Voice 2015
PHOTO GALLERY
 

 Image Viewer

 
FOLLOW US